Pacific-slope Flycatcher - Flagstaff
4 Jul 2018, 3:51 PM,
Pacific-slope Flycatcher - Flagstaff
I was surprised to hear a Pacific-slope Flycatcher vocalizing in my yard in east Flagstaff at 6:00 am today, 4 July.  I chased it down the street in an attempt to record its voice but it got away.  This date is approaching the end of about a three week period when there are very few reports for the state.  Perhaps drought conditions throughout the west will cause more abnormal movement.

An hour later a screaming call drew me out to see a juvenile Peregrine Falcon circling the neighborhood.  I suspect this species nests somewhere on Mt. Elden.
5 Jul 2018, 9:41 AM,
RE: Pacific-slope Flycatcher - Flagstaff
Just curious--how did you know it was Pacific-slope?  We still have Cordillerans calling daily in our Flagstaff neighborhood.  I am no empid expert, but I've read in a few places that these two species are generally indistinguishable by voice (see here: http://earbirding.com/blog/archives/2996)
5 Jul 2018, 3:16 PM,
RE: Pacific-slope Flycatcher - Flagstaff